First Look; 2016 MLB Hall of Fame Ballot 

With the 2015 Hall of Fame class officially joining Cooperstown Sunday we now have first look into the 2016 ballot. And from the looks, it’s not going to be like the last two classes no matter who gets in. 
Let’s look at some of the returners. The top three looks to be Mike Piazza, Jeff Bagwell, and Tim Raines. Then of course there are the steroids list that includes Roger Clemens, Barry Bonds to Gary Sheffield, Mark McGwire and Sammy Sosa. The last three of those may be off the ballot after 2016 if they do not get 5% of the vote. 
There are also 15 players who will be eligible for the first time in 2016. Those 15 are: 

  • Garret Anderson
  • Brad Ausmus
  • Luis Castillo
  • Jim Edmonds 
  • Troy Glaus
  • Mark Grudzielanek
  • Jose Guillen
  • Mike Hampton
  • Trevor Hoffman
  • Jason Kendall
  • Mike Lowell
  • Russ Ortiz
  • Chan Ho Park
  • Mike Sweeney 
  • Billy Wagner

Out of these newbies, Trevor Hoffman may be the only sure vote. Hoffman played 18 seasons which within those, he was an All-Star 7 times. He finished 2nd in the NL Cy Young voting twice as the closer for the San Diego Padres. 

Of course we will have to wait until next year to see who really gets in but this gives us a little idea if what we may get. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close