Leonard Wins NBA DPOY 


San Antonio Spurs forward Kawhi Leonard is the NBA Defensive Player of the Year for the second year in a row. 

Leonard received 547 points and 84 first-place votes from the 130 voters. 
Golden State Warriors, Draymond Green finished second for the second season in a row. Miami Heat center Hassan Whiteside in third.
Leonard tallied 1.8 steals and 1.0 blocks per game. He was named to his first All-Star team this season.
Leonard is just the second perimeter player in NBA history to win the award in consecutive seasons. Milwaukee’s Sidney Moncrief done it in 1982-83 and 1983-84, the first two seasons the award was given. Leonard was the first non-big man to win the award since Ron Artest. (NBA Stats) 
Congratulations to Kawhi! 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close