Idaho Football to Drop From FBS to FCS in 2018. 

The University of Idaho will drop from the Football Bowl Subdivision level to the Football Championship Subdivision. The Vandals will become the first school to make the drop.
Vandals will return to the Big Sky, where they played from 1963 to ’95.
The conference already is home to Idaho’s other athletic teams.

Idaho has struggled as an FBS program, averaging 3.7 wins during its 20-year run, but only 2.9 per season since 2000. 
Idaho, along with New Mexico State, was a member of the Western Athletic Conference until the WAC disbanded in 2012. 
Both schools spent the 2013 season as Division I independents before beginning a four-year term as Sun Belt members in 2014.
In its two seasons in the Sun Belt, Idaho was 5-18 overall and 4-12 in league play. 
To return to the FCS, Idaho would have to decrease its football scholarships from 85 to 63, but it’s a level at which it won eight Big Sky titles.
The Big Sky has 13 football members: Cal Poly, Eastern Washington, Idaho State, Montana, Montana State, North Dakota, Northern Arizona, Northern Colorado, Portland State, Sacramento State, Southern Utah, UC Davis and Weber State.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close