Arthur Ashe Courage Award Winner Announced 

Another ESPY award winner has been announced. Zaevion Dobson will be awarded the Arthur Ashe Courage Award at the 2016 ESPYs. 

A high school football player, Dobson was shot and killed while protecting/shielding two girls from the gunfire. They were unhurt thanks to Dobson. 

He was a sophomore at Fulton High School in Knoxville , Tennessee. 

Dobson, 15, is the youngest to win the award. 

This award recognizes individuals who embody the spirit of Ashe, who dedicated his life to human rights advocacy. It has been given out since 1993. 

“There’s nothing more courageous than somebody sacrificing their own life for somebody else,” said Maura Mandt, executive producer for the ESPYS.

President Barack Obama sent a tweet praising the teen’s actions and saying, “He was a hero at 15. What’s our excuse for not acting?” Obama cited Dobson again in a January speech on gun violence and called his decision “an act of heroism a lot bigger than we should expect from a 15-year-old.”

Dobson’s mother, Zenobia Dobson, will accept the award on his behalf while his brothers, Zackelyn Dobson and Markastin Taylor are expected to attend.

The ESPYs will be on in July. Craig Sager has also been announced as an award winner so far. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close